Creating characters.

For me, this is one of the most fun parts of writing.  I love creating my characters – making them come to life on the pages of my novel(s), making them live, breathe, talk, make mistakes… be human.  My current MCs, Tess and Lance, are truly flawed human beings that are facing extreme odds (well, I haven’t gotten to write that part of the story yet – perhaps I should skip ahead to it, as a friend has suggested I do), yet they will be able to overcome the odds that they face with grace – but not without making their share of mistakes along the way.

 

Tess is a stubborn, willful teenager that is struggling with an eating disorder as the book begins.  As it progresses, she will face trials in her life that will cause her to develop fibromyalgia.  The goal of this novel, eventually, is to show that it’s not just elderly people who struggle with being in pain – that fibro is a real illness, that it actually does occur among the younger population, and that extremely stressful times can cause it to develop.  The science behind that phenomenon is not well known yet – but researchers have made a link between stress and the development of fibromyalgia.  It is thought that there is a genetic predisposition factor also involved; it is classified as an autoimmune illness although doctors still haven’t come up with a tried and true way to test for it.  However, Tess will have to deal with fibro and her eating disorder, which can be a very bad combination, along with the stress of dealing with the trials that life throws at her.

 

Lance, on the other hand, is the flawed yet still strong and true man that stands by Tess’ side through thick and thin.  He has his doubts, yes, but in the end it all comes together.  He has struggled with an eating disorder in the past, but he recovered, and that is the catalyst for Tess learning that recovery truly is possible.  The way to recovery is not easy – but it is something that can be done, with the right supports.  As the novel progresses, she falls more and more in love with Lance, and he with her, and it does end in marriage, although she doesn’t know that yet. *grin* She also probably wouldn’t like to know it, since currently, she’s only just met him, under adverse conditions.

 

I haven’t quite yet figured out how to conclude the novel, since in its original form – the NaNo novel from last year – it never got finished.  I am also going to try and take out the sexual abuse which plot ninjas stuck into my NaNo novel to add to the word count… that’s going to be hard, since some of the main stuff in the book happens around that, but I’m sure I’ll be able to work my way around it.  Conclusions have never been my strong point – mostly because I’ve never stuck out a novel until the end.  My only real experiences thus far with writing a novel have been through NaNoWriMo, and… well, I’ve hit word count the years I’ve done it, but afterwards I never went back to edit my novels since they were such a mess.  I just didn’t want to deal with them.  This is the first time that I am attempting to go back and work on a novel written during NaNo, and it is indeed rather difficult.  I believe that my idea for the novel is a good one, but carrying it out could be tricky.

 

However – here’s to writing!!

Leave a Reply

