Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 recommended books!!

This idea is taken from The Broke and Bookish blog, over on Blogspot.  They have Top Tens every Tuesday, and while sometimes they’re not things that I particularly have an opinion on… this week I certainly do.  Well, if I can weed out my top ten recommended reads from all of the other books that I have read!! (All of the links lead to Goodreads.)

 

1) The Little White Horse – this is an excellent story for people of all ages.  It is for all ages, although originally written as a children’s tale.  It has an almost fairytale-like quality.  I first encountered it when I was eleven or so, borrowed it from the library, and then wanted to reread it.  However, then the library had gotten rid of their copy, so for my birthday, I got a copy.  I still have it, and I now realize I need to reread it.  Such an amazing story.  Definitely a “cosy read” for those blustery evenings, or the days when you’re home sick, etc.

 

2) Sarah’s Key – set in WWII (a time period I find so very fascinating!!), this book tells the story of a ten year old girl and her younger brother.  It hops from 1942 to present day, telling Sarah’s story about the round-up of Jews in Paris, and what happened to her little brother.  It is a sad tale, but very well written.  I have enjoyed other books by Tatiana de Rosnay, and I highly recommend any of her books.

 

3) Mr. Churchill’s Secretary – this one is also set in WWII.  While the title made me think of a dry, dusty office with an elderly woman taking notes in shorthand, this book was anything but dry or boring.  As I wrote in my review of it, “it takes a little while for McNeal to set up the plot … [but] it was exciting, so intriguing by the end that I couldn’t put it down.”  It is full of intrigue, mysterious happenings, and fascinating characters.  I believe it was McNeal’s debut novel and it was an excellent start.  I look forward to reading any of her others that I may come across!!

 

4) Feed – the first in a trilogy called the Newsflesh trilogy, this novel is set in future America, where zombies roam freely.  It was a little slow at the beginning for me, but when I finally let myself get caught up in the plot, it was an excellent read.  While I normally am not a fan of “zombie literature,” this series is an exception.  I have actually recently just ordered the rest of the trilogy so I can read them at my own pace and truly enjoy the excitement that runs rampant through Mira Grant’s work.

 

5) The Ladies’ No. 1 Detective Agency – the first in a wonderful series by Alexander McCall Smith, this book introduces us to the indomitable Mma. Ramotswe.  Set in Botswana, this book – and the rest of the series – is another “cosy read.”  The prose is gentle, the plot comfortable – not too exciting, but interesting enough to hold your attention.  McCall Smith’s attention to detail is extraordinary, and I found myself feeling as though I were there in Botswana with Mma. Ramotswe when I was reading this book.

 

6) Discount Armageddon – also by Mira Grant, otherwise known as Seanan McGuire, this book is a paranormal adventure set in future Manhattan.  Or rather, a parallel Manhattan, since I don’t think it particularly spells out that it’s in the future.  It’s just a different Manhattan of today than actually exists.  It’s a fun ride, and I am looking forward to reading the next one in the series – not that “cosy,” but definitely enjoyable.  It’s the best kind of book to read while you are waiting for something, since I know that I got so caught up in it that I often did not notice time passing at all.

 

7) The Tenant of Wildfell Hall – this is an excellent novel by Anne Bronte, one that I believe is not know as broadly as it ought to be.  It draws the reader into the world of Helen Graham and Gilbert Markham, and makes one wonder what the mystery is behind Helen’s reclusive behavior.  I actually need to find a copy of this so I can reread it – I first read it when I was about fourteen and enjoyed it immensely, although I believe I would enjoy it more if I read it today.

 

8) Emily of New Moon – although less well-known than the Anne of Green Gables series, this book is the first of a very delightful trilogy.  L.M. Montgomery has always been a favorite author of mine and although I love the Anne of Green Gables series, this trilogy was – to me – a better read.  It starts out with young Emily, a newly orphaned girl of ten or so, moving to her Aunt Elizabeth’s farm, and details her adventures with Perry and Ilse, two new friends that she makes as she goes to school (Ilse) or runs wild around the countryside (Perry).

 

9) Alanna: the First Adventure – although I am sure that if I looked back at it now, it wouldn’t be such a favorite, it was one of the best contemporary books that I read while growing up.  I really ought to reread it sometime soon through the eyes of an adult and revisit that fantasy world that so caught me in its grip when I was younger.  Tamora Pierce was one of my favorite authors back then, when I first forayed into fantasy.

 

10) Redwall – the first of Brian Jacques’ lengthy Redwall series, this book was one of my favorites while growing up too.  Although the plots of the books were all similar, I loved reading the adventures of the mice and other animals in the Redwall Abbey.  Once again, I need to reread these books, since I want to see how they have changed since I have grown older (read: since I have changed as I have grown older ;)).

 

What are your top ten books? 😀

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 recommended books!!

    • Cam, I totally agree!! They are wonderful books, and not very well known, as far as I can tell. In reality, all of Elizabeth Goudge’s books are excellent reads, but The Little White Horse was my all-time favorite book and still is today. 🙂

      • I highly recommend Linnets & Valerians – it’s another kids’ book but it’s also excellent. Then others like Green Dolphin Street are also excellent (that’s an adult novel). Ahh, Elizabeth Goudge certainly holds a special place in my heart. 🙂

Leave a Reply

