Top Ten Tuesday!! ~ and an update.

Quick update before I get into Top Ten Tuesday – grad school has been eating my face lately, so with a lot of papers and presentations due for school as well as being in relatively poor health at the moment, I haven’t had the time or energy to devote to this blog.  For that, I apologize.  This is the last week of classes before a 3 week break, so I should be able to get back into doing Throwback Thursdays again by the time next week rolls around.  Once again, I’m sorry for being so behind – apologizing both to you, and to myself, since this blog is a fun challenge for me.  Okay~ now, on to Top Ten Tuesday!! 😀

 

Top Ten Words or Phrases that Will Make Me Pick Up or Buy a Book.

(From the Broke and Bookish blog.)

1) “Gothic.” – I love anything to do with Gothic-style writing.  Whether it’s du Maurier or Bronte or anywhere in between, I’ll most likely buy a book if it’s described as being a Gothic mystery or similar.

 

2) “Like P.G. Wodehouse.” – I love P.G. Wodehouse’s work (dry and clean British humor!!) and if I find a book that is described as being similar to his, I will probably pick it up and browse through it, at least, to see if they’re at all accurate. (However, I am currently reading Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand, by Helen Simonson, and it was described by one reviewer to be similar to Wodehouse… I’m afraid I can’t see the similarity myself.  That kind of puts a damper on my trust of reviewers stating that certain modern writers write Wodehousian humor.)

 

3) “WWII-era Europe.” – As I’ve mentioned before, I absolutely adore fiction set in the WWII era, especially in Europe.  More likely than not, if I spy a fiction book that takes place in WWII-era Europe, it will be on my shelf shortly.  I have read quite a few, and have quite a few more waiting on my shelves to be read.  Among some of the most recent ones that I’ve read is Sarah’s Key, by Tatiana de Rosnay,

 

4) “Thrilling.” – Put that word next to anything, aside from “romance,” and I am likely to pick up the book to at least flip through it, read the blurb, perhaps take a peek at the first chapter to see if it grabs my attention.  Especially, perhaps, if it is a spy story.  Granted, I haven’t read a great deal of spy stories in my life, but those that I have read, I have greatly enjoyed (most titles are now escaping me, though, although Mr Churchill’s Secretary is coming to mind… but of course, that also takes place in WWII-era Europe, so it’s a win-win book for me… ;))

 

5) “Italy.” – I don’t know why, but I’ve discovered that I love books written about Italy, whether modern-day or set centuries back.  Something about that country seems so sensuous… but also, it seems to be a popular place for thrillers to be set, as well. (Books such as The Venetian Betrayal, by Steve Berry, come to mind.) I’m currently reading The Secret Papers of Madame Olivetti, by Annie Vanderbilt, and it’s definitely one of the most sensuous, relaxing novels that I have read in some time.

 

6) “Jane Austen.” – Anything that mentions Austen, whether speaking of the writing style, the characters, or the plot… it captures my attention.  Books like Pride & Prescience, by Carrie Bebris, are ones that I enjoy.  Perhaps a guilty pleasure – slightly – since they strive to copy Austen’s style as well as further develop her characters, but books such as that one are quite fun, light, relaxing reading.

 

7) “Mental illness.” – Memoirs of people who have lived with eating disorders (most well-known, Marya Hornbacher’s Wasted), or who have gone through times of psychosis and/or hospitalization (such as Girl, Interrupted, by Susanna Kaysen), or anything similar… I find these books to be so amazingly fascinating.  Or, alternatively, if I see a book that is about some type of treatment of mental illness, such as EMDR (eye movement desensitization & reprocessing), I will probably buy it.  Not just due to professional curiosity, but personal curiosity as well.

 

8) “Redemption.” – I am a romantic.  If I see that word pasted on the front of a book, more likely than not I’ll pick it up to see what the book is about.  If it’s about a mother-daughter reunion after many years apart or a husband and wife being reunited after a schism, I will probably buy it, because I love reading stories about redemption and the power of forgiveness.

 

9) “Pathos.” – This word always makes me curious.  It certainly doesn’t mean that the book is a shoe-in for my love, but it usually means that the book will have interesting aspects to it (indeed, as most books do).  I can’t say much else about it since it’s been awhile since I’ve found a book that has been described as such, but it is indeed a word that draws my attention.

 

10) “Haunting.” – This word can usually make me buy a book. 😉 I mean, of course, not just reading that word alone, but if I read the blurb of a book and also see that it is described as being a haunting story, one that stays with the reader long after the book is put down… yes, of course, I want to try it out and see if I am pulled in as so many readers have been (apparently, at least).  I have a love/hate relationship with books whose stories stay with me after I am done reading them… often I describe it as “being stuck in the story” – and it can be quite discombobulating, although at the same time, enjoyable, in a weird way.

 

There we go!!  The top 10 words or phrases that can get me to pick up and/or buy a book.  Now, you reviewers out there, you know a little better what will make this chick, at least, take a deeper, more contemplative glance at a book. 😉 Hope you enjoyed!!

 

What are your top ten words/phrases? 😀

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday!! ~ and an update.

Leave a Reply

