Instead of Top Ten Tuesday…

The Top Ten Tuesday list at The Broke and Bookish blog didn’t appeal to me as much this week as other weeks… so instead, I am going to ramble about my writing projects and other related things.

 

So I’ve come up with what I consider are two excellent titles for books… one of them has a story to go along with it, the other doesn’t quite yet.  The only problem is that I haven’t made much time for writing recently.  Summer school started yesterday and I’m expecting to be drained of creative juices since I’ll have papers and projects and possibly exams, so perhaps I will just need to file away the titles and story ideas until I am done with grad school.  Now, that’s a sad thought!!~ there have to be people who can still write papers for grad school and then write on the side… but I guess I am not among that crowd.  I’ve tried, and the best I’ve managed was doing NaNoWriMo last November.  I did so successfully, and I was – and am – proud of myself, since November is crunch-time in terms of school, but I haven’t written much since then.

 

Grad school really is pretty intense.  But I’m glad that I got the chance to enroll in the program that I did.  I think it’s the right timing and it seems to be working out fairly well.  It’s a lot of writing – but I’m fine with that.  I write papers better than I take exams, and I much prefer papers to exams, too. 😉 They’re more intense for me, because I usually write a paper in one sitting – I’ve tried the system of writing a little bit each day for a week, but that just doesn’t work for me.  I don’t know why.  When I write, I get intense about it, even if it means spending 9 hours with only two breaks writing and researching.  I guess perhaps that is one reason why I can’t write much now for fun – with grad papers to do as well, I don’t have the energy to be intense about writing for fun.

 

Maybe, once I get the amount of work sorted out for my first online class (ever!! – I have not taken an online class before this, nor have I taken a summer class), I will try to portion out a little bit of time each day to get some words down on paper.  I don’t want to give up my writing dreams until I finish grad school, because that’s still 2 years away, and while the time will pass quickly – it already is!! – I want to keep my creative brain at work.  I’m not entirely sure that I’ll be able to do NaNoWriMo these next two years since I’ll be doing field placement plus two classes for the next 4 semesters (fall/spring – not the summer classes).  That’s 12-15 hours a week of basically interning as a social worker – since I’m not working, it’ll be manageable, but I’m not sure how manageable NaNoWriMo will be with the commute to my internship (wherever it may be), two classes, and the assorted homework and paperwork.  Not being able to do NaNo is a sad thought, but grad school takes first priority.

 

Anyway, there’s me rambling. 😉 I’ll try to post a book review or recommendation in the next few days.

 

Are any of you writing anything wonderful, magnificent, amazing?  Tell me about it!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

