Slumber – Tamara Blake.

4/5 stars.

When I picked up this book, I was ready for an interesting read based on the blurb. However, nothing prepared me for the utter darkness of the inhabitants of Cottingley Heights. This story is quite dark, in my opinion, and deals with pretty depressing topics that I would only recommend to the older end of YA readers. To me, this story would be a little too scary for younger YA readers – but it is very interesting, and kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time I was reading it.

Ruby is a very likable protagonist, and her family is very sweet. Tam is likable as well, although the further the reader progresses into the story, the less s/he is inclined to trust Tam and those at Cottingley Heights. I think that Ms. Blake really captured the essence of a small family, though, in creating Ruby’s family – the closeness of Ruby to her younger sister, Shelley, and the hard-working mom who always tries to provide for her daughters, even doing the worst of jobs to keep them fed and clothed.

The only problem that I had with this book was its ending. As far as I know, this is not the beginning of a series, and I feel like a sequel – or even an epilogue – would have been appropriate. It’ssuch a feel-good ending… right until the last few paragraphs. It just left me hanging, wondering what actually happens after the last paragraph. But overall, yes, 4/5 stars. Well done, Ms. Blake, for writing a fascinating novel that takes a look at the darker side of magic.

Many thanks to Diversion Books via NetGalley for the opportunity to read and review this book.

Leave a Reply

