Lives of Magic – Lucy Leiderman.

4.5/5 stars.

Overall, this is a very readable book. It took me perhaps a third of the book to really buy the plot and be pulled in by it, but that was mostly because the word “magicians” threw me off. The connotations of “magicians” versus “sorcerers” (which I think would’ve been a better fit for those who were known as magicians in this book) – that may have been something Ms. Leiderman should have thought about, since – to me at least – magicians are the quacks at carnivals and such, and sorcerers are the workers of magic in fantasy worlds. However, the protagonist’s disbelief in the entire idea of the story helped the reader believe the story, so that was a clever twist of Ms. Leiderman’s.

I really enjoyed Gwen’s voice throughout the novel. She seemed like a very down-to-earth 17-year-old girl, although the depth of her love for Kian was a little unbelievable. I kept thinking to myself, “Is this really how a 17-year-old would feel?” but I guess it’s possible. I was grateful, though, that the romance didn’t take a front seat, and that more stock was placed in the adventure of trying to find the fellow magic-wielders across the globe.

My one complaint is that the ending felt a bit rushed. And the fact that Kian didn’t say goodbye before he left?! That broke my heart. I wish that he would’ve been able to say goodbye to Gwen at least, if she meant that much to him… and the way that no one knows what he meant by “I’m going home” because his true home is in the past… ahh, so sad.

However, overall, a definite good read. It was very absorbing and I’d recommend it to pretty much anyone with an interest in a quirky cast of characters, lots of actions, some romance, and some pretty cool uses of magic. Well done, Ms. Leiderman, for a very readable novel that I hope will be the beginning of a series!!

 

Many thanks to Dundurn, via Netgalley, for the opportunity to read and review this book.

Leave a Reply

