An update that is full of “Stuff & Things.”

I apologize for not really being around the past few months.  Life has been crazy with many complicating factors, but I am looking forward to a great fall.  I’ll be busy, that’s for sure – I have an internship lined up that will hopefully be starting in the next few weeks… two classes that are rumored to be our toughest – only one has met so far and I’ve found myself struggling to dislike this professor since I really don’t want to love the prof and hate the class… countless (text)books to read (well, okay, so only 3 textbooks, but you know, it seems like a lot more than that!!)… and countless actually fun books to read!! (No, I shouldn’t say that about my textbooks – I do enjoy parts of them, as nerdy as that sounds.  Once I get into the textbook lingo then I do much better.  Let’s just say, though, that that hasn’t quite happened yet… but we’re still on the first week of classes.)

I am sad because I am not sure if I will be able to participate in NaNoWriMo this year.  With the health problems that I have been having (nothing life-threatening, no worries 😉 ), plus a 15-hour-a-week internship and 2 classes, I have a feeling that by the time November rolls around I will be struggling to find time to fix myself a cuppa or read a chapter in a coveted book, much less be able to commit to writing 1667 words a day for a month.  However, I am going to try.  Camp NaNo this past July was a total flop – I got 15,000 words into it, almost exactly, and then got bogged down with… yup!! you guessed it – health problems and classes. (Yes, I did take classes all summer.  My actual summer was… *drumroll* …two weeks between spring and summer 1’s class, one week between summer 1 and summer 2’s classes, and then one week between summer 2’s class and the beginning of fall classes.  Guess I’m starting to feel a little bit of that “grownuppy” feeling… 😀 …but I can’t say that I am too fond of it.)

However, I am going to try and update this blog more often with things that vary from book reviews for books from NetGalley.  Not that anything is wrong with that, but I didn’t intend this blog to just be a book review blog.  I want to write about writing, I want to post snippets of my WIPs, I want to talk about all of the new and exciting things that are happening for me in the writing world – and the other world, for that matter. (Wait… there’s a world other than the writing world? *gasp* How is this news?! 😉 )

My most exciting piece of news?  I am trying to get involved with the International Justice Mission as… well, I don’t know what as.  But since it involves working with people who have been violently oppressed, and that is one of my passions, I thought it would be good to stick my nose out of the door of my safe little world and see if there is something that I could do to help now.  Maybe an internship over the summer months of next year.  I don’t know.  I just know that I want to be involved with their work, because it is good work that they are doing every day, whether in Washington DC or in Africa or Indonesia.

(Well, I thought it was exciting, anyway!! 🙂 Their website is here if you want to take a look at the work that they do in case you, perhaps, may be interested in supporting them in some way, shape, or form.)

Over and out, my friends.

Leave a Reply

