Streaks of Blue – Jack Chaucer

4/5 stars.

This book was excellently written, and I really enjoyed the story arc. The characters were mostly believable, although I have to admit that the protagonist, Nicole, seemed a little too good to be true. The times that she got in trouble with Adam seemed very awkwardly written, but that’s really the only problem I have with the characters or the writing.
The idea behind the book seems a little far-fetched, and I have to admit that the importance of some of the descriptions in the book that were commented on a lot – like how Nikki had blue streaks in her hair – were lost to me. I also never understood where “14th & Stardust” turned out to be, even though that was a key thing in how Nikki knew that a school shooting was going to be happening at her school.

However, despite having a couple of problems with the book, overall, I truly enjoyed it. I’d almost be hoping for a sequel to follow up with this story, just to see where Nikki and her kind-of boyfriend, Derek, end up, and if she saves any more lives with the dreams she has. The interactions she had with her English teacher, Mr. Richardson, were perhaps my favorite part of the book, because it was then that Nikki seemed the most herself.

Many thanks to John Cullen, via NetGalley, for the opportunity to read and review this book.

Leave a Reply

