Escape from Berlin – Irene Watts.

This was definitely a middle grade book, although in NetGalley it was listed as YA. I had a problem with that at the beginning, but the further I got into the stories of the children involved in Kindertransport, the less I cared what level of reading it was – I just wanted to know the outcome!!

As someone who loves WWII era stories, to be able to read three short novels about Kindertransport – which I had never heard of until I requested this galley – that was utterly fascinating. In case you don’t know, Kindertransport was the time in WWII era Germany when a lot of Jewish children were sent by train to England. They went with minimal adults – just enough to watch over them, and the adults were not allowed to stay in England. Parts of the stories were heartbreaking – for example, when Marianne had to leave her mother and didn’t know if she would ever see her again.

I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to know more about Kindertransport or who is looking for a good middle grade read for a child who is interested in WWII.

Many thanks to Tundra Books, via NetGalley, for an opportunity to read and review this novel.

Leave a comment