Top 10 books I read in 2013!!

This Tuesday’s top ten, as sponsored by The Broke & Bookish blog, is the top 10 books you’ve read in 2013.  This year I read more than I had in several years previous, so I will have to refer back to my Goodreads list to remember which ones were my favorites. 🙂

1) Phoenix Rising, by Pippa Ballantine.  This book was delightful steampunk, and I adored the characters in it.  Their awkward interactions… priceless!!  I also laughed a fair bit while reading it (well, in my head – I tend not to laugh out loud when I read books, not sure why).

2) Slumber, by Tamara Blake.  This is one that I got from NetGalley, but man, did it stick with me!!  I really want to see a sequel to this, as much as I am sure that I won’t.  It’s a YA novel, and is excellently written.  However, prepare for the ending if you decide to read it… that’s all I’ll say about that!!

3) In the Garden of Beasts, by Erik Larson.  I posted my review of this awhile back here on my blog, but goodness, this is another one that stuck with me.  It’s a novelized history of the US ambassador to Berlin in 1933… and it is so very gripping.  I’m not usually one to rave about nonfiction, but this one was absolutely excellent.

4) The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, by Mary Ann Shaffer.  This is another that I wrote a review of on here, I believe.  It’s another WWII book, but a novel this time, and I really adored it and the characters in it.  I’m sad that Ms. Shaffer died, because I’m sure she could have written more amazing novels had she had the time.

5) The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.  The feels, all the feels!!  I adored this book, as cliche as that may be… I mean, it’s one of the best known YA novels of recent years and it seems like everyone who read it loved it.  But still, it definitely makes it into my top 10 of 2013.

6) City of Bones by Cassandra Clare.  I know there are a lot of mixed feelings about this book’s author, and I never would’ve picked it up except my book club was reading it and it looked interesting.  And it was interesting!!  It gripped me from the first page… and the ending… whoa. 🙂 Now I just have to see the movie…

7) The Broken Rules of Ten by Gay Hendriks.  This one was another NetGalley book, but it was excellent even if the formatting for Kindle was odd.  I can’t put my finger on why I adore this book as much as I do, except that Ten was a very adorable character at such a young age, and it’s been a long time since I’ve read a book that portrayed youth in such an honest way.

8) Soulless by Gail Carriger.  This book was entirely fluff, but it was good escapism reading. 🙂 This year has been rough enough for me that I need books like that, and I am glad that I have the rest of the series to read as time allows – and I mean, any book that is in a series entitled “The Parasol Protectorate” wins, doesn’t it?

9) Postcards from Nam by Uyen Nicole Duong.  This was an excellent, excellent book, and I cannot recommend it highly enough.  The writing is luminous and paints vivid word pictures of Vietnam during the war and of the children involved.  It is a painful novel to read, in parts, but is still one of my favorite books that I have read in quite some time.

10) I shall wear Midnight by Terry Pratchett.  This is the first Tiffany Aching novel that I read, and since I adore Pratchett, of course it had to be in my top ten!! 🙂 Once again, wonderful escapist reading, and Tiffany is such a lovable protagonist.  Plus, the Wee Free Men!!

Those are my top 10 books read in 2013, and believe me, it was tough to pick out of the 50-some that I did get read before this past fall semester ate my face. 😉 What are YOUR top ten? I’d be interested to know!!

3 thoughts on “Top 10 books I read in 2013!!

    • A lot of people seem to love that book!! 😀 And I can see why – it is wonderful and so relaxing to read. And yes, try out some Pratchett – you have to have a dry sense of humor to truly enjoy his work but it’s definitely worth reading. Make sure to start at the beginning of his Discworld series, though, just to get a feel for the world that Pratchett created. I didn’t, and kind of wish that I had. 🙂 Happy 2014 back to you!!

Leave a Reply

