Several book reviews. :D

Thy Kingdom Fall – Austin Dragon.

3.5/5 stars.

This is a very political novel, and I will admit that it is not entirely up my alley. While I found it interesting, it was somewhat difficult for me to follow in its entirety since I was not able – due to time constraints – to read it all at once. I ended up reading bits and pieces here and there, and I think that that was to my detriment. It would’ve been much better had I been able to sit down and read it all at once. The premise is fascinating, and Dragon imagines a future in America very well – and scarily.

However, I did enjoy it, especially when I could sit down and actually focus on it. While I do not think I will be seeking out the sequel(s) to this novel, at least not immediately, I do think that this is a very interesting read.

Many thanks to Independent Book Publisher’s Association and NetGalley for this novel to read and review!!

 

A Dark Faerie Tale Omnibus – Alexia Purdy.

4.5

I really enjoyed the novels and extras in this omnibus. While it was long, and I often had to put it down in between reading sections, it was very fun to read. The protagonists in each of the novels – connected in some way, usually – were wonderfully depicted. The prose was luminous, and the descriptions were so beautiful and full of wonderful imagery that I could almost see the places and feel them around me.

Well done for a well-imagined world, Ms. Purdy. Well done, indeed.

Many thanks to Indie Ink and NetGalley for an opportunity to read and review this novel!!

 

Bellman & Black: a Ghost Story – Diane Setterfield.

4/5 stars.

I loved Ms. Setterfield’s writing in The Thirteenth Tale, and this novel did not disappoint. It was a beautiful – and fascinating – ghost story… and by “beautiful” I don’t mean the typical definition. I mean that it inspired awe, interested me, and made me want to keep reading just for the gorgeousness of the prose. The story itself was interesting too, and I found myself cheering the protagonist on… even if he was somewhat an antithesis of a hero at some points in the story.

Well done, Ms. Setterfield, for drawing yet another Gothic but wonderful ghost story. I will definitely be on the lookout for more novels of yours.

Many thanks to Atria Books and NetGalley for an opportunity to read and review this novel!!

Leave a Reply

