We Are the Goldens – Dana Reinhardt.

4/5 stars.

This was probably the fastest reading YA novel that I have picked up in quite awhile. I read it in about two hours, and found it to be quite engaging. Some of it was a little unbelievable – I mean, Nell is only 14, but she sounds so grown-up compared to her sister, Layla, who is 17. Also, while I understand that it does happen, the fact that she, as a freshman, got on the varsity soccer team seemed a little unusual, although granted, she didn’t get much playing time.

However, those and a few other unrealistic things were the only reasons that I brought my rating down to a 4/5 stars. I had a good time reading this book – Ms. Reinhardt’s portrayals of a close sister-sister bond and family ties were very good and very interesting, and even though the plot of the book was mostly “passive” – there was not a great deal of action, since it was mostly Nell talking with Layla indirectly, through the medium of this book – it was still well-written. Otherwise it would not have pulled me in as easily as it did.

Oh, and the other thing that bothered me was the ending. It seemed very abrupt, as if Ms. Reinhardt just got tired of writing about Nell and Layla and wanted an easy way out. It left me wondering a lot of things – about Nell and Felix, and what happened to Mr. Barr, and how Layla reacted… I feel like the author could have done a little better job with writing a less up-in-the-air ending.

I’d recommend this book to anyone who wants an interesting-if-not-entirely-believable YA novel about sister-sister bonds and the troubles than can be run into in high school.

Many thanks to Random House Children’s and NetGalley for an opportunity to read and review this book!!

Leave a Reply

