The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend – Katarina Bivald

Many thanks to Sourcebooks Landmark, via Netgalley, for an opportunity to read this book in exchange for an honest review!

4.5/5 stars.

Okay, in all honesty, I did get a little bogged down in The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend. For me, the bogging down occurred around 75% or so through the book. However, once I picked it back up and resumed reading, the story sped up after ~80%.

I. Loved. This. Story.

It’s a charming, quirky, adorable story about a spinster bookseller, Sara, who comes to America to visit a close friend (with whom she has been in contact via snailmail for a long time, but never met in person). And it’s a charming, quirky, adorable story about how the little town that Sara is visiting falls in love with her.

There were a few sections that were confusing or that I felt weren’t completely well-explained.

But the adorableness of the ending and the soft spot I have in my heart for those who believe – as I do – that books can change lives… that bumped my rating from a 4/5 to a 4.5/5. I think it’s fair to say that this book almost received a 5/5 from me – the only reason that I didn’t rate it that high is because near the end of the book, I felt as though the characters were a bit flat (in some regards – Grace and her hunting rifle excluded!). Additionally, I think that in taking a rather longer-than-intended break from readingThe Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend, I did the book a disservice since it was somewhat difficult to jump back into the story.

Definitely do recommend – definitely will keep this author on my radar!

Leave a Reply

