These Vicious Masks – Tarun Shanker & Kelly Zekas

Many thanks to Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group, via Netgalley, for an opportunity to read this book in exchange for an honest review!

4.5/5 stars.

Okay, seriously. This book was amazing.

I didn’t read the blurb on Goodreads prior to reading the book (the blurb on Netgalley is entirely different). Had I read the GR blurb, I may have been a little less intrigued by the story – because really, Jane Austen meets X-men…?

But the heroines, Evelyn and Rose, are badass and awesome. They aren’t fainting flowers, and the romance in the book really… wasn’t that bad. In fact, comparing this to some of the other books I’ve read (or am currently reading), there was barely any romance in These Vicious Masks at all. So I guess that’s my way of saying – there was romance, but it definitely didn’t play a huge role, nor did it overpower the actual story.

I loved the characters. I loved the mixture of steampunk and fantasy. I loved the idea of having abilities that are not your normal “superhero abilities.” I loved Sebastian especially.

And the ending – oh my heart!!……

I’ll definitely be keeping this series on my radar… I WANT TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS! That being said, These Vicious Masks didn’t quite end on a cliffhanger, so that made me happy. There are just some unresolved portions of the story but nothing “serious enough” to warrant me calling it a cliffhanger. But as I said – I definitely want to read the rest of the series.

And yes, I definitely do recommend this to anyone who loves steampunk, who loves romance in small doses, who loves kickass heroines…

(My only problem with this book is that I did get bogged down in it a little bit, at about 60%. However, I think that was more my own fault – I got too involved in reading a ton of books at once – rather than it being the fault of the writing style or anything else like that.)

Leave a Reply

