A Cure for Madness – Jodi McIsaac

Thanks to Thomas & Mercer, via NetGalley, for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!

5/5 stars.

Those of you who have been following my blog for awhile know that I love to dissect books about mental illness, especially when the author has done a terrible job at the research involved in the book (for examples, see this review of The Asylum Prophecies or this review of Switching Time).

There was none of that nonsense in A Cure for Madness.
(Can I tell you how much I adore authors who present a realistic picture of mental illness??)

Anyway. I think what really caught me up in A Cure for Madness was not so much the fact that there was a pathogen that created an extremely contagious and incurable disease that was very similar to schizophrenia… but was more the relationships. I loved seeing how Clare slowly realized that her brother, Wes, was right in a lot of what he said, regarding her running away from Clarkeston. I loved seeing her character growth throughout the novel. And I loved Wes’ brotherly jabs at her (“my friends aren’t dickheads… unlike yours”).

I would’ve liked to see more romance between her and Kenneth, but given the hectic and tense situations that they continuously faced, it makes sense why there wasn’t (and honestly, given the setting of this book, it would’ve been more of a distraction had there been more of a spark between them). That being said, the book ended on such an amazing cliffhanger-but-not-quite-cliffhanger so if there is a follow-up/sequel to A Cure for Madness, I definitely want to see more Clare-and-Kenneth interaction in there (even if it’s not super romantic).

My honest opinion – Jodi McIsaac has a lot of talent. And I’m very interested to see where she will go from here. I’m definitely going to be putting some of her others books on my TBR pile (which is about the size of Mt. Everest now… and growing!).

Leave a Reply

